Our Story

Tsongas Litigation Consulting, Inc. (Tsongas) is one of the most experienced trial consulting firms in the nation. Founded in Portland in 1978 as one of the pioneers in the field, our team has decades of experience assisting attorneys and organizations in preparation for trial, mediation, and arbitration. Our experience over the last three decades as a strategic partner on thousands of cases in nearly all states has allowed us to continuously improve our methodologies and understanding of fact finder decision making and persuasion.

We are a full service firm, providing a full range of research and trial consulting services, including case strategy, community attitude surveys, pre-trial jury research, identification of key issues, development of case themes, witness preparation, jury selection, courtroom visuals, assistance with opening statement and closing argument, and post-trial juror interviews. Our goal is to fully integrate all of our trial consulting services so that they complement and build upon each other. In addition, we work to coordinate and incorporate the informational elements of one service into another so that we maximize our ability to assist you as efficiently as possible. The services we offer combine to provide a comprehensive package of pre-trial and trial assistance which is based on case developments, your time frame, budgetary considerations, and the information we gather from our research and consulting services at key stages in the pre-trial process.

We operate a team and facilities to help our clients gain a competitive edge. Our trial consultants have advanced degrees in communication and the social sciences and our graphic professionals prepare sophisticated litigation graphics, videos, and multimedia presentations. The firm’s facilities include mock courtrooms, deliberation rooms, and focus group rooms. The Tsongas firm was a founding member of the American Society of Trial Consultants in 1982 and has subsequently contributed three association presidents — Joyce Tsongas in 1984; Dennis Brooks in 1996; and Chris Dominic in 2007.